Friday , 23 February 2018
Breaking News

Newton- Conover Coach Receives a Surprise from His Team

DSCN2889On Monday, March 24th, Newton-Conover High School held its Winter Sports Banquet and Hall of Fame induction at the high school gym at 6:00.  One of the highlights was a heart-warming gesture by the athletes of this year’s state championship wrestling team.  Twenty-two years ago, Head Coach Eddie Clark was himself a state champion as a student at Avery High School in North Carolina but he was not able to secure his own championship ring at that time.  His wrestlers this year were aware of that and chose to collect money from the team, contact the ring company and create a ring for their head coach, Mr. Clark.  Needless to say, he was very touched by their gesture.  This gesture also speaks well of the caliber of students that come out of the Newton-Conover City School district.  Thanks to the students of the 2013-14 State Championship Wrestling Team and congratulations to Coach Clark. Eddie's Championship Ring








The night began by recognizing the following students as they were recognized by their coaches for the following awards having participated in their winter sport.  Newton-Conover is fortunate to have both academically strong students but also very competitive and successful athletes.  Congratulations to both the students and their coaches for a job well-done!

Mens Basketball

JV prospect:                                         Sayvioun Proctor

Most Valuable Player:                        Jalen Connor

Team Before Self:                               Alex Johnson

Defensive Player of the Year:                         Tyrrel Fleming

Most Improved                                   Josh Ramseur


Womens Basketball

MVP-                                                   Makenzie Eller,

Coaches Award-                                  Gretchen Crider

JV Coaches Award                               Brianna Glaspy


Men Swim

Determination-                                   Sam Abernethy

Swimmer of the Year-                        Andrew Yount


Women Swim

Determination-                                   Amy Bandy

Swimmer of the Year-                                    Sarah Kulcsar


Varsity Cheerleading

Team Before Self –                              Olivia Abernethy

Coach’s Award –                                  Ayanna Cunningham

Captain’s Award –                               Camaron Loritts


JV Cheerleading

Team Before Self                                Katey Hicks



Most Outstanding                               Austin Klutz

Most Outstanding                               Franklin Wepner

Coaches Award                                   Rolen Benson


Hall of Fame Inductees

Lisa Witherspoon  (Class of 1993)

Gregory Corpening (Class of 1995)

About Bill Long

Leave a Reply