Saturday , 24 February 2018
Breaking News

N-CCS December 2014 BOE Meeting

BOE DEC 7The December 2014 N-CCS Board of Education Meeting began with amazing celebrations pertaining to the many great things happening in Newton-Conover City Schools.  The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance, led by South Newton Elementary student leaders , Carson Ray and Isabella DeCoursey.  BOE DEC 6

Newton-Conover High School Principal, Mr. Kevin Campbell, recognized teachers Laura Zinkhan, Haskew Smith, Karmen Lawing, Marty Isenhour, and Beth Fowler, for their leadership in performing arts and student programming with award-winning excellence. BOE DEC 5BOE DEC 4

Superintendent, Dr. David Stegall, recognized N-CHS Senior, Abigail Cox, for winning two local recognitions, the Teen Character Award and the Hickory Young Professional Scholarship, recently.

Dr. Stegall and BOE Chair, Mr. Jim Stockner, recognized the N-CHS Soccer Team and Regional Coach of the Year, Angelo Palozzi, for winning the most recent State Championship for N-CHS.  BOE DEC 3 BOE DEC 4

Dr. Stegall also showed his appreciation for the hard work and dedication that DLT Golf owners (Lori, Don, and Jessica Teague), as well as Cindy Baker, committed to making the Christmas For Kids Golf Tournament a success this year.

BOE DEC 1Director of EC and Communication Services, Dr. Betsy Rosenbalm, recognized the student artists who won the N-CCS Christmas Card Art Contest this year. Four winners were chosen to have their art displayed in the N-CCS Christmas Card. Those winners were: from North Newton Elementary, Giovanni Retana-Ramirez; from Shuford Elementary, Jack Lamb; from South Newton Elementary, Josie Klein; from N-CMS, Rodrigo Venegas; and from N-CHS, Cassidy Shannon.

BOE DEC 2BOE DEC 8Lastly, Dr. Stegall recognized Shuford Elementary teacher, Mrs. Angie Sigmon, for her recent acknowledgement as the Milken Award Winner for the state of NC. This award is the Oscar of teaching, and Angie was selected from many impressive candidates across the country. Angie publicly acknowledged the district and her school for the support that she has received, and she shared her gratitude to N-CCS for making her who she is, as well as pushing her to make each year better.

The BOE voted to elect Mr. Tim Hayes as the new BOE chair and Mrs. Jeanne Jarrett to again serve as the BOE vice-chair.

The evening served as a wonderful reminder of why we are proud to say, “We are Newton-Conover!”

About James Frye

Leave a Reply