Friday , 15 December 2017
Breaking News

N-CCS January 2015 School Board Meeting

Christmas 2014 and January BOE 2015 102Christmas 2014 and January BOE 2015 105Christmas 2014 and January BOE 2015 106Christmas 2014 and January BOE 2015 110Christmas 2014 and January BOE 2015 108Christmas 2014 and January BOE 2015 113The January 2015 N-CCS Board of Education Meeting began with special celebrations pertaining to the many great things happening in Newton-Conover City Schools.  The January 12th meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance, led by Newton-Conover Middle School student leaders, Zach Catchings, Andrew Elder, Jamie Nunez, and Lee Thornburg. Discovery High School Principal, Mr. John Robinson, recognized his entire staff for their commitment to the program, despite the challenges that they have been faced with over the past several months. Teacher Jody Dixon accepted the certificate of appreciation on behalf of the Discovery High staff members. Newton-Conover High School Principal, Mr. Kevin Campbell, recognized custodial staff members, Dennis Mungro and Ron Duffy, for their excellent skills and tireless dedication in keeping the N-CHS grounds, buildings, and facilities clean and in working order, even in times of short staffing. Shuford Elementary School Principal, Mr. Patrick Nelson, publicly thanked parent volunteers, Harvey Sterling and Lydia Shook, for their willingness to do any and everything to assist, enhance, and support the school. Likewise, North Newton Elementary School Principal, Mr. Shane Whitener, acknowledged the dedication and innovation of his hard working parent volunteers, Kelly Stewart and Melissa Slamcik. Lastly, Newton-Conover Middle School Principal, Ms. Kim Kaylor, recognized some of the hard working and talented father figures who make up the volunteer group F.A.M.I.L.Y. This group serves the middle school in many ways, and consists of 17 dedicated individuals: Harvey Sterling, Lonnie Shook, Jr., Bill Reese, Kelly Stewart, Mark Pennell, Cassidy McCorkle, Jeff Thornburg, Charles Canrobert, Al Benedikter, David Hayes, Gerald Geddis, III, Chris Henze, Jack Minor, Miguel Silva, Richard Cook, Todd Clark, and Jeff Byrd. The evening served as a wonderful reminder of why we are proud to say, “We are Newton-Conover!”


About James Frye

Leave a Reply