Sunday , 25 February 2018
Breaking News

April 2015 N-CCS Board of Education Meeting

BOE April 2015 005 BOE April 2015 008 BOE April 2015 013 BOE April 2015 014 BOE April 2015 016 BOE April 2015 020 BOE April 2015 026 BOE April 2015 027 BOE April 2015 032 BOE April 2015 034The April 2015 N-CCS Board of Education Meeting began with acknowledgements of the amazing accomplishments, partnerships, and award-winning events taking place in Newton-Conover City Schools.  The meeting was called to order with the Pledge of Allegiance, led by Conover School students, Jimmy Ferguson and Julia Xiong. These passionate students were accompanied by Conover high school teacher, Michael Townsley.

Shuford Elementary Principal, Mr. Patrick Nelson, recognized two teachers for their phenomenal performance in the classroom and their willingness to do whatever it takes, both personally and professionally, to reach students and make a difference. For these reasons, Kristi Davis and Mischele Glover were acknowledged and thanked by the BOE for their hard work and dedication. School Counselor, Katie Cunningham, was also celebrated for her positive impact on students and the school climate.

South Newton Elementary Principal, Mrs. Julia Styers, recognized Sgt. Spencer Cline, Sgt. David Coffman, and Sgt. Jason Hill for their willingness to give so generously of their time and skills to support and sponsor student club activities at South Newton.

Newton-Conover High School Principal, Mr. Kevin Campbell, recognized three very dedicated parent volunteers, Rick Wagoner, Jean Bassett, and Pam Catena (absent). He saluted them for their tireless offerings of time and support in working with students in the JROTC program, alongside HM1 Scott.

Superintendent Dr. David Stegall recognized N-CHS student athlete Arhron Hope for winning the state 2A wrestling championship for the heavy weight class. He also recognized N-CHS Senior Abby Cox for her recent appointment as the first N-CHS, and one of only 38 total, Park Scholar to enter North Carolina State University, beginning in the fall of 2015. Dr. Stegall also acknowledged the amazing work of a Discovery High junior, Aoife Sinclair, and two N-CHS juniors, Darvinash Mohan and Sydney Karre, for having been appointed to NC Governor’s School in the summer of 2015. Each of these students has accomplished amazing feats in their own personal ventures!

Discovery High School Principal, Mr. John Robinson, recognized the persistence and dedication of his Science Olympiad Team and his Environthon Team for their successful competitions at the regional level, winning multiple 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place awards. They will compete in the state competitions this weekend and are destined for more victories!

Lastly, Superintendent Stegall acknowledged the N-CHS & N-CMS Band Director, Haskew Smith, for his incredible band programs, which have earned him the recent title of Catawba County Band Director of the Year. Mr. Smith also expressed gratitude and congratulations to several of his band students in attendance who recently won a Superior rating at the MPA Festival.

Once again, the evening served as a wonderful reminder of why we are proud to say, “We are Newton-Conover!”

About James Frye

Leave a Reply