Friday , 15 December 2017
Breaking News

Newton-Conover’s Initial Cohort of Teacherpreneurs Complete Leadership Seminar at NCCAT

NCCS Teacherpreneurs Cohort 1

Thirteen Newton-Conover teachers were selected to participate in a year-long leadership program designed to identify teacher leaders and provide them with both professional development to strengthen their leadership capacity and the opportunity to lead by identifying a problem of practice to address during the 2017-18 school year.  The group meets several times throughout the school year to explore the concept of leadership and their roles as teacher leaders.  During the week of November 7, 2017, the group traveled to the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching in Cullowhee to take part in a four-day seminar as part of their professional development experience.

The cohort is comprised of each school’s 2017-28 Teacher of the Year and one or two additional teachers selected by the principal of the school.  2017-18 Teacherpreneurs are:  Conover School:  Rochelle Medvec, North Newton:  Ashley Arndt & Tara Ramsey, Shuford:  Mischele Glover & Emily Sauceda; South Newton:  Sara McCall & Heather Reynolds, Newton-Conover Middle School:  Kelly Cannon & Jordan Moore, Discovery High School:  Jody Dixon,  Newton-Conover High School:  Greg Hardy, Betsy Holland, & Caroline McCrary.

Teacherpreneurs completed a book study this fall of the book Teacherpreneurs:  Innovative Teachers Who Lead But Don’t Leave.  While at NCCAT, they engaged in dialogue around the book, they presented their problems of practice to the group using the Critical Friends Protocol, and they received training on the following topics:

  • Defining Leadership and Types of Leaders
  • John Maxwell’s Five Levels of Leadership
  • Group Dynamics
  • Policy Leadership
  • Teacher Leadership Competencies
  • Leadership & the North Carolina Educator Evaluation Rubric
  • Public School Budgets

Facilitators include Dr. Bill Miller, NCCAT Facilitator & former superintendent; Dr. Robert Sox, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction; Dr. David Stegall, Superintendent – Newton-Conover City Schools;  Dr. Heather Mullins, Chief Academic Officer – Newton-Conover City Schools; Dr. Amanda Bridges, Assistant EC Director, Newton-Conover City Schools; and Angie Sigmon, Instructional Coach and NT3 Improvement Lead – Newton-Conover City Schools.

Teacherpreneurs will be recognized at our Staff of the Year Banquet in the spring and will be presenting their Problems of Practice implementation plans and findings in April.

The opportunity was made possible through the National Board Network to Transform Teaching (NT3) Grant.  Newton-Conover has committed to continuing the Teacherpreneurs program and looks forward to watching these amazing teacher leaders grow while selecting new Teacherpreneurs each year.

For more information on the Teacherpreneurs program, please contact Dr. Heather Mullins –

About Heather Mullins

Heather Mullins is the Chief Academic Officer in Newton-Conover City Schools. She is a North Carolina Teaching Fellow who spent 12 years as a high school English Teacher. She received her B.S.Ed. in Secondary English Education from Western Carolina University. Heather completed her National Board Certification in Adolescent Young Adult English Language Arts in 2002. She holds an M.Ed. in Academically and Intellectually Gifted from UNC-Charlotte. Heather has served as a Curriculum Specialist in Hickory City Schools, an adjunct professor at Lenoir-Rhyne University, and a Professional Development Consultant for the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. She completed her Ed.D. in Educational Leadership through Western Carolina University. Heather is one of the co-founders of #NCed Chat, North Carolina’s first Twitter chat for teachers. She is passionate about innovative practices, instructional technology, student ownership of learning, and supporting teachers. Heather serves on the advisory board for the North Carolina Digital Learning Plan, North Carolina School for the Deaf and Catawba Science Center. She is a recipient of the 2015 NCMLE Central Office Administrator to Watch Award. She also received the 2016 Don Chalker Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership. Heather is the proud mother of one son, Jackson.

Leave a Reply